ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) [EBSCOhost]
What it is:
ERIC, the Education Resources Information Center, is a database provided through EBSCOhost that offers access to education-related journal articles, research reports, conference papers, and other scholarly materials. It’s an essential tool for students studying education, instructional design, or anyone involved in teaching and learning research.
Why you’d use it:
Find credible sources for papers and projects in education, psychology, and learning sciences
Explore topics like classroom management, curriculum design, and student engagement
Access peer-reviewed journal articles, reports, and full-text documents
Use EBSCO’s filters and citation tools to organize your research
ERIC (EBSCOhost) is a leading database for scholarly research and reports in education. Maintained by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences, ERIC indexes peer-reviewed journals, books, research syntheses, and policy papers that support teaching, curriculum development, and academic research.
Why you’d use it:
Locate high-quality, peer-reviewed education research for professional development or publication support
Stay informed on pedagogy, instructional technology, and assessment strategies
Find studies and reports from universities, government agencies, and education associations
Integrate citations and full-text resources into your course materials
Accessing EBSCOhost Off Campus
To use EBSCO products from off campus, you’ll need a My EBSCO account.
Create your account while on campus if possible.
If you’re off campus, you can Ask Digby for help setting up your account.
When accessing EBSCO resources off campus:
Go to the A–Z Databases list on the library website. Select one of the EBSCO databases. Or access EBSCOhost all.
You’ll be prompted to identify your institution—type South Dakota School of Mines and Technology (or simply SDSMT) and select it from the dropdown list.
Sign in using your campus email address and your My EBSCO password.
If you forget your password, you can request a one-time code to reset it and regain access to EBSCOhost.
Once logged in, you can search and use EBSCO databases just as you would on campus.