Faculty, staff, and students working off campus are able to securely connect to campus network resources using our Virtual Provider Network (VPN). So whether you're home or traveling, you can access the SD Mines network and servers.
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive streaming video collection designed to support academic research and classroom instruction across all disciplines. With thousands of titles—including documentaries, interviews, demonstrations, and archival footage—AVON brings learning to life through engaging visual content.
Why Use AVON?
🎥 Educational & Engaging: Watch high-quality academic content that complements textbooks and lectures.
🔍 Easy to Search: Find specific videos, segments, or topics quickly using advanced search features.
🧪 Interdisciplinary Coverage: Ideal for science, engineering, health, humanities, social sciences, and more.
💬 Transcripts & Captions: Includes searchable transcripts and closed captioning for accessibility and ease of citation.
🧰 Classroom-Ready: Stream in-class, share links in course materials, or embed directly into learning platforms.
AVON is an excellent resource for visual learners, course enrichment, or anyone seeking credible, academically-focused video content.
Description: Primo is a discovery service developed by Ex Libris, providing a unified search interface that allows users to access a vast array of library resources, including books, e-books, journal articles, videos, and more. By aggregating content from local library catalogs and the Ex Libris Central Discovery Index (CDI), Primo offers a comprehensive search experience, enabling users to discover and access scholarly materials seamlessly.
Best for:
Students and researchers seeking a single search point for library resources
Exploring a wide range of academic materials across disciplines
Accessing both licensed and open access content
Utilizing advanced search features and data visualizations for improved exploration
Why use it?
Comprehensive Coverage:Access to a wealth of trusted scholarly materials and the most relevant resources related to research.
Smart Discovery:Features like the bX Article Recommender provide users with intelligent suggestions based on their search behavior.
Resource Exploration:Tools like Citation Trail and Resource Recommender help users discover related materials and resources.
Digital Collections:Intuitive and visual way for users to view and navigate digital collections.
Search Tips:
Use the search bar to find specific articles, authors, or topics.
Apply filters to narrow results by publication date, resource type, or subject area.
Utilize the "Advanced Search" feature for more refined queries.
Ancestry is a popular genealogical research tool that provides access to historical records, family trees, and DNA analysis to help users trace their ancestry and build detailed family histories.
Access provided by South Dakota State Library
Why Use Ancestry?
🧬 Genealogical Research: Access a vast collection of historical records, including census data, birth, marriage, and death certificates, military records, immigration documents, and more.
🌍 Global Reach: Ancestry offers records from countries all over the world, making it a great resource for both domestic and international family research.
🧳 Family Tree Builder: Users can create detailed family trees, adding names, dates, and photos, and discovering connections between generations.
🧬 DNA Testing: Through DNA testing, users can gain insights into their genetic heritage and connect with relatives across the globe.
🔍 Search & Discover: Powerful search tools make it easy to locate specific ancestors, even across multiple generations, with access to millions of records and historical documents.
Ancestry is perfect for anyone interested in genealogy, historical research, or discovering more about their family’s past.
Books and Authors (Gale) is provided by the South Dakota State Library
Description: Books and Authors helps you discover new reading material based on your interests. It offers expert book recommendations, author biographies, reading lists, and genre guides. Great for finding your next read or exploring literature for a class project.
Best for: English, Literature, Creative Writing, leisure reading, and book clubs.
Why use it?
Get personalized reading suggestions
Browse award-winning titles, book reviews, and author info
Explore by genre, theme, or historical period
Search Tips:
Use “Who? What? When? Where?” search to discover books by theme
Browse genre lists like historical fiction, mystery, or sci-fi
Check “Read-a-Likes” for recommendations similar to books you already enjoy
Fold3 is a digital repository specializing in U.S. military records, offering access to millions of original documents, including service records, pension files, photographs, and personal stories of those who served.The platform provides a unique opportunity to explore historical military documents, aiding in genealogical research and the study of military history.National Archives+1ProQuest+1
Best for: Students and researchers interested in:
U.S. military history
Genealogy and ancestry research
Primary source documents
Historical photographs and personal narratives
Why use it?
Access to a vast collection of military records from the Revolutionary War to recent conflicts
Exclusive content from the National Archives and other reputable institutions
User-friendly search and browse functionalities
Integration with Ancestry.com for expanded research capabilities
HeritageQuest Online is a comprehensive genealogical database provided by ProQuest, offering access to a vast collection of U.S. federal census records, family and local histories, military records, and more. It is designed to assist users in tracing their family history and exploring the genealogical landscape of the United States.
Best for:
Genealogy enthusiasts and family historians
Students conducting research in U.S. history and social sciences
Individuals interested in exploring their ancestral roots
Why use it?
Access to over 5 billion records across more than 500 databases
Searchable U.S. federal census records from 1790 to 1950
Extensive collections of family and local histories, including 26,000 titles
Military records, including Revolutionary War pension files and Freedman’s Bank records
Interactive maps and research aids to assist in genealogical research
Search Tips:
Utilize the Advanced Search feature to narrow results by specific criteria such as name, location, and date
Explore the Interactive Census Maps to visualize historical demographic changes
Consult the Research Aids section for guides on using census data and other genealogical resources
Use the Image Viewer to view and save high-resolution images of historical documents
